- Treasurer / Collector
- Office Responsibilities
- Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
Billing Cycle: Annual per registration
Due Date: Thirty days after issue, date varies upon registration of vehicle. Majority of bills are due in late March or early April.
Motor Vehicle Excise Tax bills are issued each calendar year to each owner of a vehicle registered in Massachusetts. The bills are prepared from the records of the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. The place of garaging of the vehicle, as of January 1st, determines the city or town to which the bill is payable. Excise Tax is assessed at the rate of $25 per thousand dollars of taxable value. The value of a motor vehicle is determined by the Commissioner of Revenue, based on the manufacturer's list price (MSRP). Condition and market value are not considered in determining value. Percentages are determined as follows:
- 50% Year prior to model year
- 90% Year of manufacture (model year)
- 60% Second Year
- 40% Third Year
- 25% Fourth Year
- 10% Fifth Year and each year thereafter
Interest will be charged at 12% per year on any payment not received by the Collector's Office by the due date. Postmarks are not acceptable.
Available ways to pay:
- Online at City Hall Systems.
- Mail, with the envelope enclosed.
- In-person at 15 Summer Street, please bring the full bill with you if paying in person.
- Overnight drop-box at 15 Summer Street near the Riverside Entrance.
If bill is not paid by due date:
If bill remains unpaid, pursuant to Massachusetts General Law Chapter 60 Section 15, a demand fee of $25 will be added, plus any applicable interest. If payment is still not received, a warrant fee of $10 will be added and the account will be forwarded to the Deputy Collector, Kelley and Ryan Associates, Inc. The Deputy Collector will issue a first notice for an additional fee of $12 and a second notice for an additional fee of $17. Continued failure to pay will result in your license and registration being flagged for non-renewal at the Registry of Motor Vehicles. Kelley and Ryan Associates can be reached at 800-491-9788. To make online payments or find the closest Kelley and Ryan Associates location, please visit their website.
To request a motor vehicle excise abatement, please fill out an application or contact the Assessor's Office at 508-821-1011.