- Veterans Department
- Statutes & Regulations
Statutes & Regulations
Massachusetts Veterans Benefits are described and promulgated in MGL chapter 115. In the administrative code 108 Code of Massachusetts Regulations.
The Definition of Massachusetts Veteran as per (MGL. chapter 4, sec. 7 clause 43) ''Veteran'' shall mean (1) any person, (a) whose last discharge or release from his wartime service as defined herein, was under honorable conditions and who (b) served in the army, navy, marine corps, coast guard, or air force of the United States, or on full time national guard duty under Titles 10 or 32 of the United States Code or under sections 38, 40 and 41 of chapter 33 for not less than 90 days active service, at least 1 day of which was for wartime service; provided, however, than any person who so served in wartime and was awarded a service-connected disability or a Purple Heart, or who died in such service under conditions other than dishonorable, shall be deemed to be a veteran notwithstanding his failure to complete 90 days of active service; (2) a member of the American Merchant Marine who served in armed conflict between December 7, 1941 and December 31, 1946, and who has received honorable discharges from the United States Coast Guard, Army, or Navy; (3) any person (a) whose last discharge from active service was under honorable conditions, and who (b) served in the army, navy, marine corps, coast guard, or air force of the United States for not less than 180 days active service; provided, however, that any person who so served and was awarded a service-connected disability or who died in such service under conditions other than dishonorable, shall be deemed to be a veteran notwithstanding his failure to complete 180 days of active service.
Department of Veterans Affairs Federal Benefits and Eligibility Criteria are promulgated in Title 38 of the United States Code.
Taunton reservists and guardsmen can be exempt from auto excise tax while on active duty, outside the USA for at least 45 days. View the Massachusetts General Law, CH60A, Section 1 and 9 for more information.