When are permits required?

Mass State Building Code (780 CMR) section 105.1 states that it shall be unlawful to construct, reconstruct, alter, repair, remove or demolish a building or structure; or to change the use and occupancy of a building or structure; or to install or alter any equipment for which provision is made or the installation of which is regulated by the code without first filing an application with the building official and obtaining the required permit. This regulated work includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • New construction, renovations, additions, alterations
  • Fire alarms and/or sprinkler systems
  • Mechanical systems
  • Roofing, siding, replacement windows
  • Fireplaces, wood stoves, coal stoves, pellet stoves
  • Swimming pools, pool decks
  • Accessory structures over 200 square feet
  • Window awnings which project more than 54 inches
  • Retaining walls which hold more than 4 feet of unbalanced fill
  • Fences over 7 feet in height
  • Temporary structures, signs, banners

Mass State Plumbing/Gas Code (248 CMR) and Massachusetts General Law Chapter 142:

States only lawfully licensed businesses or individuals may perform Plumbing/Gas fitting work regulated by the Board of Plumber's and Gasfitters. Until a permit has been issued by the Plumbing and Gas Inspector, Plumbing or Gas fitting work shall not be installed, altered, removed, replaced, or repaired. Any application to such permit shall be made in writing to the Inspector before work commences. This code includes, but not limited to Minimum Sanitary requirements for Building Occupancy, point of use protection for all sewer, water and Gas connections within jurisdiction.

In accordance with 527 CMR 12 as well as Massachusetts General Law Chapter 143 section 3L anyone performing electrical work must first, or within five days, deliver an electrical permit application to the local inspector.

In accordance with 271 CMR section 9.02 an application to perform sheet metal work is required to be made to the inspector prior to any erection, installation, or dismantling of sheet metal work. Minor repairs, testing, adjustment, and air-balancing shall not require a permit.

Show All Answers

1. When are permits required?