Housing Authority

Board of Commissioners:

The Taunton Housing Authority Board of Commissioners consists of five members; four elected by the Mayor of the City of Taunton and confirmed by the City Council, and one appointed by the Governor of Massachusetts. One of the members is required to be a THA tenant. All serve five-year terms. Commissioners establish policies under which the Taunton Housing Authority conducts business, and ensures that those policies are followed by Housing Authority staff. The Board is responsible for preserving and expanding the agency’s resources and assuring the agency’s continued viability and success. The THA Executive Director reports directly to the Board of Commissioners and is responsible for the management and operation of the agency and its personnel.

Mission Statement: 

The Taunton Housing Authority was established in 1948 to provide safe, decent and affordable housing opportunities in the City of Taunton and remains committed to this mission. We are committed to providing opportunities to people who experience barriers to housing because of income, disability or special needs in an environment that preserves personal dignity, and in a manner that maintains the public trust. A primary goal of the Taunton Housing Authority is to continue to provide housing for these low-income households while improving housing and economic opportunities for residents and maintaining high standards of property management, fiscal management and service delivery. The Taunton Housing Authority currently administers both units of state and federally-aided public housing, as well as Section 8 Housing Choice vouchers.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Colleen Doherty Executive Director (508) 823-6308
Kimberly Lavigne Assistant Director (508) 823-6308

Board Members

Name Title
Alan Pelletier Chair
F. Roger Hoffmann Vice - Chair
Arthur Lopes Treasurer
Nancy Pina Commissioner - Mayoral Appointee
Lillian Ricketts Commissioner - Mayoral Appointee