Industrial Development Commission


The Taunton Industrial Development Commission is part of the Office of Economic and Community Development and is responsible for: liaison services to the City of Taunton, The Commonwealth of Massachusetts and Federal Agencies; retention and expansion of local industry through assisting them to improve competitiveness and efficient operation by introduction to: new means of financing, technological improvements, source of qualified employees, and applicable training resources.

 Also responsible for the recruitment of new companies through the marketing and promotion of Taunton as a City which is business receptive with available property and services for industrial and commercial growth; Maintenance and upgrade of the City Economic and Industrial Development web sites; administrative support by management agreement to the Taunton Development Corporation and by ordinance to the Economic Development Partnership Committee, the Economic Development Incentive Board, the Taunton Industrial Improvement District and the Taunton Industrial Development Finance Authority; continued development and maintenance of City industrial/commercial/professional databases and sitefinder lists for available property and buildings; continual review of City property and services to provide for present and future industrial expansion.


Staff Contacts

Name Title
Richard L Shafer Economic Development Director

Board Members

Name Title
John S. White Chairman
Joseph Amaral Vice-Chairman
A.J. Andrews Member
Sergio Bento Member
Frank Costa Member
Terrence Dermody Member
David W. Fenton Member
Maria Gooch-Smith Member
Michael Horrigan Member
Jeffrey Hunt Member
Stanley Krawec Member
Harold Rose Member
Michael Tabak Member
John White Member
David St. Yves Member