Taunton Youth Commission


The mission of the Taunton Youth Commission is to provide Taunton's youth with a voice in local public/government affairs, develop leadership skills, social responsibility, and civic pride.


The structure of the Taunton Youth Commission is within the legal parameters of the Massachusetts General Law Chapter 40, Section 8E - Powers and Duties of Cities and Towns: Youth Commission Establishment, Powers and Duties.  There are 17 students members and 4 adult members appointed by the Mayor for staggered 3 year terms.

Specific functions of the Commission:

  • To serve as a liaison between the Municipal Council and the youth of Taunton.
  • To serve as a forum for the youth of Taunton to present their ideas, needs, and suggestions.
  • To investigate needs, problems, and issues affecting the youth of Taunton.
  • To establish or strengthen services deemed important by the Commission for the youth of Taunton.


Name Affiliation
Marie Angeley

Adult Member

Sean Benard

Coyle & Cassidy High School

Krista DeMello

Coyle & Cassidy High School, President

Adult Member

Michael Fox

Adult Member

Sara Horn

Coyle & Cassidy High School, Secretary

Shawna LaPlante

Taunton High School

Trang Le

Taunton High School

Kailey March

Taunton High School

Matthew McDonald

Taunton High School

Evan Milho

Taunton High School,Vice-President

Katelin Morrissey

Taunton High School

Jessica Poillucci

Taunton High School,Treasurer

Alec Turner

Coyle & Cassidy High School

Jordan Zeiba-Peoples

Taunton, High School