Zoning Board of Appeals

The Taunton Zoning Board of Appeals is a five member board with two alternate members. Members are elected at large in a City wide election every two years. The purpose of the Zoning Board of Appeals is to hear cases for Variances, Special Permits and Comprehensive Permits.

Variances are cases where a petitioner is requesting a waiver of a zoning requirement. In cases where a hardship is determined to exist, the board may grant a variance from the requirements of the zoning ordinance allowing the project to proceed with the necessary relief.

A Special Permit is a request that is appropriate in some areas of the Cities but not in all areas. A determination of whether a proposal is detrimental to the public good must be made by the Board.

Comprehensive Permits are permit requests that are designed to creat affordable housing through the waiver of some zoning requirements. Meetings are generally held once a month on the second Thursday at 5:30 PM in the Chester R Martin Council Chambers. However, this is subject to change and special meetings are held as needed.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Kevin Scanlon Director (508) 821-1051
Denise Paiva Secretary (508) 821-1051

Board Members

Name Title
Dennis Ackerman Chair
Steven Vieira Clerk
George Moniz Member
Wayne Berube Member
Sara Marie Arbour Member
Michael Staples 1st Alternate
William Egan,III 2nd Alternate